Why I Always Choose a European over a North American

9540868“I thought you were twerking”, uttered a Canadian guy to my friend as a way to get an intro. He has been eyeing me awkwardly for about fifteen minutes and finally he had his ‘in’..

My French girlfriend just had some beer spilled on her and she made a quick motion clearly resembling Miley Cirus. Clearly.

Let me say this first. I hate the new lingo. Selifes. Twerking. Chillax. I cannot stand this fake culture built on media references. It annoys me that bars in Toronto on a Saturday night resemble a zoo where the guys are like apes, walking around pumped up, trying to awkwardly get action, not sure how to act, except to flex their biceps, offer lame pick-up lines, yell a lot, high five even more and look like they haven’t had sex for ages. Except for those really good looking ones who look like you are fully beneath them to even look you in the eyes.

How I miss the feeling of looking at someone and them looking right at you with a twinkle in their eye. Not something that happens often in this city.

Right after I almost puked in my mouth, Senior Twerker came up to me even though I looked like I wanted to teleport myself out of that bar and country.

“Where are you from?” he asked. In Toronto, no one is really Canadian, so we are constantly curious.

“Russia”

“Wow” he exclaimed. I was all ready for – “Russian women are hot” which is always the second line, but thankfully he restrained himself before I would seriously puke in my mouth.

“And you?” I offered for politeness sake.

“Italian” he said.

OK, I know what Italian is and that boy could not be it. It’s not that I idolize Italians. I definitely do not. Nor French, German or Spanish men. But I can tell the look of an Italian a mile away. It is the intensity, the raw sexuality, the directness, the openness, the confidence in his role as a man that cannot ever be confused with Canadian blandness.

“Let me guess” I offered “born in Woodbridge (Italian part of the city)”

“Wrong. Toronto. Better?”

I shrugged. Sure, I was being mean but I was in a bitter mood, tired of all this fake jargon and lame conversation. It has been a while since I have felt attracted to anyone and he was really getting on my nerves.

“Not really”

“Well, what kind of men do you like?”

I hesitated for a split second before blurting out “Europeans. Real ones.”

It took him about a minute to take off. And I didn’t even feel bad.

Ok, so in hindsight I was horrible. I judged a guy for something he had no control over. Not his fault he didn’t know any other food than meatballs and pizza. Not his fault he has probably knows three obvious words in Italian and says them with a thick Canadian accent. Or that he introduces himself as Niko without ever having ever experienced more than two weeks in Rome or Sicily.

But TWERKING!? He really had it coming.

And let’s be real. European boys are not all that great either. Just the other day I had a dull and shallow date with a French guy. Even though wine tasting was involved, it was still lackluster. And we split the bill equally. The evening before I had to endure a German guy tear down my video channel ruthlessly until I had no hope in it or me any longer. And yesterday, I spent a few hours in a club with a Spanish guy who was too awkward to make a real move. So, okay, Europeans are not all intelligent, worldly, cheeky and sexy.

But at least there are many that are.

Canadian boys – or at least Torontonian boys, you need to step it up and offer a girl something other than a lame pop culture reference in order to introduce yourself and maybe if you look her deep in the eyes and talk to her like a woman will she actually feel like one. And then, possibly, she will finally not care that you are a just a regular boy born in Woodbridge.

But for now I will stick with my Europeans.

24 thoughts on “Why I Always Choose a European over a North American

  1. I devoured your blog in like two hours– it’s the most entertaining thing I’ve read in a long while! Absolutely hilarious, and I love how open and honest you are. I feel like we lead parallel lives– I’ve had countless similar experiences and share many of your thoughts on love and dating. I need more– where are links to your videos??

    • Dear LB,

      Thank you so much for your comment. It’s really great to see that someone likes my blogs and can relate to them. That’s why I write them in the first place!!
      Since I can’t openly share links here, since I write under a different name (don’t want to offend any guys I wrote about), I will send you a link to your email instead.;)

    • Hi Stacey,

      I read your message first thing in the morning. You made my day:))
      I will send you the link later on today as well as a link to my second blog with more articles and updates. It’s still new so I am putting more work into it.

  2. Hola Mia! I think your blog is really entertaining, and the way you write makes it even more interesting, keep them coming, and by the way could you please email me the links too? Thanks

  3. I had to google ‘twerking’ to know what it was all about. Here in Europe we’re a bit at a loss with the lingo…

    Anyway, girls can be just as shallow. I have similar reactions when I feel not even my minimal standards are met. Only to usually regret my rudeness later on, when the dust is settled.

    The thing is, people act the way they do because they don’t know any better. If they did, they probably would act differently. And we all have been young and silly at some point, at least I have.

    • Hi Pegaso,

      Thank God you are at a loss with the lingo! That’s why I said I prefer Europeans 🙂

      But yes, women can definitely be as shallow or even more so and this is possibly why men here try to appeal to the shallow women they meet. They definitely don’t know any better, since their surroundings: friends, media etc. tell them this is the way to be.. Not sure if he was both young and silly. I will agree with the silly though;)

      Thanks for the comments!

  4. Actually, I should thank you, for providing the entertainment. In point of fact your blog has now replaced my usual fiction: it is just as good, if not better!

    • Thank you so much! Your comment has made my day. I initially started the blog because I wanted to share my personal stories. It then evolved a bit and I am now also working on international dating documentaries. Can’t mention the name here since I go by an alias 😉

  5. Please Mia, could you send me the links with videos and more of your posts to my email? I love how real and honest you are

    • Hey,

      If you go to my latest post and click on it, it will take you to my other blog/webpage where I post all my videos. Thank you so much for your responses. I will try to write really soon, it is just that my filming project demands a lot of time and my love life has been non-existent lately! If you are interested in a specific topic, let me know. I will write about it or do a video.

  6. Hi Mia, I just stumbled upon your blog and have spent the last couple hours reading through it. Enchanting and endearing stories. Ironically, I can sort of relate to the stories – I’ve been a lot of the men you’ve described (at various stages and ages in my life lol). I’m a lot more mature and wiser now in my ripe age of 38. I’ve travelled extensively throughout Europe and spent a lot of time in different parts of Italy. I’m a first generation Italian-Canadian (Sicilian father/Roman mother), but have always felt more European than Canadian. I totally agree with your sentiments regarding Europe over North America…and if you think Toronto’s bad, spend a few weekends in Vancouver; you want to talk about no culture. If possible I’d love to start a correspondence with you, you seem like a very cool girl. I also would like to start blogging – perhaps you could help me with that – Fabio. Email me at fabmazz26@gmail.com

    • Dear Fabio,

      Thank you for your message! Yes, I heard Vancouver is definitely more bland than Toronto from a few people, so I think you are onto something. At the moment, I’m dealing with quite a few things right now, but let me know if you are interested in blogging and maybe I can include one of your stories in my blog:))

      Hugs,
      Marina

  7. Dear Mia! I came across your blog and totally hooked to it! i have been reading it non stop! haha. i guess i can definitely relate to you in most of your experiences. i would like to see more– can you send me the links to your videos too!? thank you!

  8. Dear Mia, your blog is: hilarious, endearing and brutally honest, my favourite combinations in a blog as a reader! So glad I found this blog when I did! I could not agree more with this post, I’m currently a Toronto girl myself and have started to realize how pitiful the dating scene is here. I can relate a lot to you, myself being a late bloomer. My first kiss actually being this year at 21! I now realize why though, I like you never found myself being quite attracted to men in a way that I wanted to explore a deeper connection, and with the sad scene here I can understand why. I actually had my first kiss abroad, and in a way planned it that way, it was very hilarious, memorable, and set on a lovely Greek Island ;). I would love it if you could send me the link to your channel, you’ve got a long term follower here :). I could use some advice right now, as a guy I met abroad this summer is coming to visit me from Germany, and although I’m excited I could use some advice from someone who has more experience.
    Much love xoxo

    • Hey Leonna,

      Super sorry for the late answer! I just realized that I had a bunch of comments here and I haven’t been checking anything in ages. Thank you, thank you!! I love to hear you say this and it makes me want to start writing again actually. I have put so much effort into my channel, I completely forgot to invest time in my blog. Yes, Toronto is a terrible place to date.. I always have more success finding men from other countries and am always on the brink of leaving. Yet somehow I’m still here. A guy from Germany? Definitely have lots of advice to give here. I will send you my channel and feel free to ask me any questions at all:)
      Hugs!

Leave a comment